All Eight Big Ten Teams Compete in NCAA Regional Championships

Iowa and the other seven Big Ten women's gymnastics teams compete at NCAA Regionals on Saturday.

April 6, 2012

All eight Big Ten women’s gymnastics teams take part in the NCAA Regional Championships on Saturday, as each seeks a berth in the NCAA Championships later this month. All regionals will begin between 4 and 6 p.m. local time.

Big Ten teams will appear in five regionals across the country, with Nebraska earning the top seed in the Salt Lake City Regional, while Minnesota earned the No. 3 seed. Ohio State and Penn State hold the second and third seeds, respectively, in the Raleigh Regional, while Michigan (No. 4 seed) and Michigan State (No. 6 seed) will take part in the Auburn Regional. Illinois will host the Champaign Regional as the No. 4 seed, while Iowa heads to the Seattle Regional as the No. 5 seed.

Last season, Illinois and Michigan each earned berths to the national championships, while five individuals advanced through to the NCAA finals.

The top two teams, along with the top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team, will receive automatic berths to the NCAA Championships on April 20-22. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championship in that event only if they do not qualify as part of a team or as an all-around competitor.