All Seven Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Teams earn bids to NCAA Regional Championships

April 10, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

All seven Big Ten squads have been awarded bids to the 2008 NCAA Regionals which will take place on Saturday, April 12, with a chance to compete for a berth in the NCAA Championships. 

Michigan is coming off its 10th Big Ten Championship in 11 seasons and 16th overall and will be the No. 1 seed in the West Region in Corvallis, Ore.  The Wolverines have posted a top 10 finish in the NCAA Championships in 14 of the last 15 seasons, placing sixth in last year's event.  Joining Michigan in the West Region is Michigan State as the No. 3 seed.  The Spartans vie for their second NCAA Championships appearance in program history.

The North Central region will also include two Big Ten squads as fourth-seeded Iowa and sixth-seeded Minnesota will compete in Minneapolis, Minn.  The Hawkeyes are in search of their first Championships appearance since 2004.  The Golden Gophers are hosting the event as they hope to return to the NCAA Championships for the third time in program history. 

Fifth-seeded Illinois, runner-up in last week's Big Ten Championships, will compete in the South Central Region in Norman, Okla., vying for its first trip to the NCAA Championships.  Sixth-seeded Ohio State is part of the Central Region taking place in Baton Rouge, La., and fourth-seeded Penn State is competing in the Northeast Region and hosting the event in University Park, Pa.  The Buckeyes and Nittany Lions are each in search of their sixth berth in the national championships. 

The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships on April 24-26 in Athens, Ga., hosted by the University of Georgia.  In addition, the event winners at the regional championships will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not a part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.