2011 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Season in Review

Big Ten Gymnast of the Year Kylee Botterman closed the 2011 season with the AAI Award and the national all-around championship.

May 9, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format

Big Ten women's gymnastics closed the 2011 season at the NCAA Championships with Michigan representing the conference in the Super Six Team Finals. The Wolverines' Kylee Botterman won the second all-around title in conference history to lead the individual contingent of Big Ten gymnasts.

After being named the recipient of the AAI Award, given to the top senior women's gymnastics student-athlete in the country, Botterman turned in an all-around score of 39.525 to take first place in the competition. The Big Ten Gymnast of the Year also tied for second in the floor exercise with a score of 9.900. Michigan gymnasts racked up 10 All-America honors individually, while Illinois added six.

Michigan took sixth place in the team finals, tallying a team total of 196.425. The Wolverines recorded the top score during the finals in the parallel bars, notching a score of 49.375. Michigan also finished third in the floor exercise, fourth in the vault and sixth on the balance beam. Illinois joined Michigan at the NCAA Championships, posting a score of 195.100 en route to sixth place in its championships qualifier.

The Wolverines won their fifth-straight and 19th-overall conference title at the Big Ten Championships, posting the top team score in three of the four events en route to first place. Michigan posted a team total of 196.600, followed by Penn State in second (196.375), Illinois in third (196.075), Minnesota in fourth (195.325), Ohio State in fifth (194.900), Iowa in sixth (194.850) and Michigan State in seventh (194.425).

Penn State's Sharaya Musser earned a score of 39.475 en route to the all-around title. Botterman won the floor exercise crown, while Illinois' Amber See and Musser tied for first on the vault. The Nittany Lions' Natalie Ettl won the uneven bars title and Michigan's Jordan Sexton took the balance beam crown.



Joining Botterman on the list of the conference's individual award winners were Ohio State's Sarah Miller and Carey Fagan. Miller was honored as the Big Ten Freshman of the Year while Fagan picked up Coach of the Year laurels.