Season In Review

May 13, 2016

NCAA Championships: Both Minnesota and Nebraska ended their seasons at the NCAA Championships. Minnesota took sixth in the first semifinal session with a score of 194.9875 while Nebraska took fifth in the second semifinal session with a score of 195.7750. Minnesota's Hanna Nordquist finished second on the beam in the first qualifying session with a score of 9.9125, while teammate Lindsay Mable tied for third on the bars with a score of 9.900. Nebraska's Hollie Blanske finished second on the vault in the second qualifying session with a score of 9.925. For more, click here.

Regional Representation: Women's gymnasts from all 10 Big Ten competed in the NCAA Regional Championships on Saturday, April 2. Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State represented the conference in team competition, while several gymnasts and alternates from Maryland and Rutgers participated in various individual events. For more click here and here.

Wolverines Take the Championship Crown: Michigan earned the 2016 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships title on Saturday, securing its 22nd overall and third consecutive title. The Wolverines tallied 197.125 points en route to the team title, followed by Nebraska in second place with 196.900. Minnesota finished in third with 196.575 points, Penn State placed fourth with 196.150 and Iowa and Ohio State rounded out the top five with 195.875 points each. For more, click here.

Regular Season Champions: Minnesota clinched the regular-season Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championship on Saturday after finishing with a 9-0 Big Ten record. The Golden Gophers placed first with 197.425 points at the Big Five meet against Iowa, Michigan, Penn State and Rutgers en route to their third regular-season title and first since 2014. For more, click here.

And the Award Goes To: Minnesota's Lindsay Mable was named Gymnast of the Year. Michigan's Olivia Karas took home Freshman of the Year honors and the Golden Gophers' Jenny Hansen was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year. For more, click here.