Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award Nominee -- Kylee Botterman, Michigan

Kylee Botterman is Michigan's nominee for the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award.

June 17, 2011

Through Friday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 22 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on the Big Ten Network’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

A senior captain from New Lenox, Ill., Botterman won the AAI Award as the nation’s top senior student-athlete in NCAA Division I women’s gymnastics. She was a finalist for the Honda Sports Award for gymnastics and is currently a candidate for the NCAA Woman of the Year. Botterman led Michigan into the NCAA’s “Super 6” competition for the first time in seven years, winning the NCAA All-Around title with a score of 39.575. She was also a first-team All-American on the vault, beam and floor exercise. Click HERE for more information on Kylee.


Ashley Benson, Indiana Volleyball

Derek Drouin, Indiana Track & Field

Kachine Alexander, Iowa Basketball

Vince India, Iowa Golf

Emily MacLeod, Michigan State Cross Country/Track

Greg Jones, Michigan State Football

Kelci Bryant, Minnesota Diving



Michael Richards, Minnesota Swimming

Numa Gulyanamitta, Purdue Golf

David Boudia, Purdue Diving

Blair Brown, Penn State Volleyball

Talor Battle, Penn State Basketball

Melissa Fernandez, Illinois Gymnastics

Andrew Riley, Illinois Track & Field

Jantel Lavender, Ohio State Basketball

Steven Kehoe, Ohio State Volleyball

Shannon Smith, Northwestern Lacrosse

Brandon Precin, Northwestern Wrestling