Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Joanna Sampson (Michigan)

Sampson led Michigan to its first Big Ten Championship since 2011.

June 23, 2014

Through today, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Joanna Sampson – Michigan – Gymnastics

One of three senior captains, Sampson led Michigan to a fantastic season that included its first Big Ten Championship since 2011, an NCAA Regional title and a top-10 finish at the NCAA Championships. Sampson was one of six national finalists for the 2014 AAI Award, which is given annually to the nation's top senior collegiate gymnast. During the team's postseason run, Sampson won or tied for two Big Ten titles (floor exercise, uneven bars) and one NCAA Regional title (floor exercise). The 2013 NCAA champion on floor exercise, Sampson finished second in the event this season. Click HERE for more information on Joanna.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics



Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field

Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing

Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling

Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin hockey

Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin track & field

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota gymnastics

Ellis Mannon, Minnesota gymnastics

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern lacrosse

Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern wrestling

Jannelle Flaws, Illinois soccer

Jesse Delgado, Illinois wrestling

Deja McClendon, Penn State volleyball

David Taylor, Penn State wrestling