Penn State Captures Big Ten Indoor Crown

Feb. 28, 2010

Penn State captured its second-ever Big Ten Indoor Championship in front of a home crowd at Horace Ashenfelter III Indoor Track on Saturday afternoon. The Championships host posted four Big Ten titles and two runner-up finishes on the final day of competition to total 111 points for its first team title since 2004.

Ohio State placed second with 88 points, followed by Indiana (83) and Minnesota (83) in third and fourth place, respectively. Wisconsin improved upon its seventh-place finish from last year’s meet, rounding out the top-five spots with 72 tallies.

The Nittany Lions trailed in the team standings for much of the afternoon, before taking the lead with two events remaining on the strength of a 25-point haul in the 200 meters, led by a victory from junior Shavon Greaves. Claiming her second-career Big Ten Indoor title in the event, Greaves blitzed to a facility- and meet-record, and NCAA-automatic qualifying time of 22.98. Her blazing one-lap effort is also the fastest in the NCAA this year.

Greaves earned her second individual title in the 60-meter dash, crossing the line in 7.30 for the gold. She later returned to the track to aid Penn State to a sizzling victory in the mile relay in the final event of the afternoon. The Nittany Lion quartet turned in a season-best and NCAA provisional qualifying 3:35.38 to set a new meet record.  The relay win is the fifth-consecutive indoor conference title for the Nittany Lions, who have won eight of the last nine 4x400s in indoor and outdoor track.

Veteran leadership proved to be the difference in the Penn State victory as senior Bridget Franek raked in 18 points with a winning effort in the mile (4:37.95) and second-place finish in the 5,000-meters (16:09.48).

A select group will head to last chance meets next weekend, looking to qualifying for the NCAA Indoor Championships, to be hosted by the University of Arkansas on March 12-13.

Complete Results

Full Recap

Final Team Standings
1) Penn State - 111       
2) Ohio State - 88  
3) Indiana - 83       
4) Minnesota - 82  
5) Wisconsin - 72       
6) Purdue - 71  
7) Illinois - 67       
8) Michigan - 61  
9) Iowa - 36      
10) Michigan State - 30  

First Team
Angela Bizzari – Illinois
Aja Evans – Illinois
Molly Beckwith – Indiana
Ashley Rhoades - Indiana
Faith Sherrill – Indiana
Rebecca Addison – Michigan
Jillian Smith – Michigan
Danielle Tauro – Michigan
Shana Vinson- Michigan
Alicia Rue – Minnesota
Christina Manning - Ohio State
Shaniqua McGinnis - Ohio State
Doris Anyanwu – Penn State
Caitlin DeFusco – Penn State
Fawn Dorr – Penn State
Bridget Franek - Penn State
Shavon Greaves - Penn State
Christina Madison - Purdue
Chavon Robinson - Wisconsin
Dorcas Akinniyi - Wisconsin

Second Team
Alecia Beckford-Stewart - Illinois
Ryisha Boyd – Illinois
Ashley Kelly – Illinois
Marissa Golliday – Illinois
Melissa Bates - Illinois
Elizabeth Yetzer – Minnesota
Chioma Omeoga – Minnesota
Alena Brooks – Minnesota
Nikki Swenson – Minnesota
Samantha Sonnenberg – Minnesota
Letecia Wright - Ohio State
Nkeiru Ugwoaba - Purdue
Stacey Wannemacher - Purdue
Megan Seidl - Wisconsin