Big Ten Announces Women's Indoor Track & Field Individual Honors

Feb. 28, 2012

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Tuesday the 2012 All-Big Ten women’s indoor track and field teams and individual award winners. Highlighting the list, Ohio State junior Christina Manning was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and Purdue senior Leah Eber earned the nod as Field Athlete of the Year. In addition, Manning was tabbed Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships, while Purdue’s Dani Bunch took home Field Athlete of the Championships laurels. Illinois’ Ashley Spencer was tabbed Freshman of the Year by the conference coaches, while Husker head coach Gary Pepin was named Coach of the Year by his peers.

The Big Ten Conference office recognizes student-athletes from each team with the Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for women’s indoor track and field are, Illinois’s Ryisha Boyd, Indiana’s Antonia Franklin, Iowa’s Nicole Erickson, Michigan’s Emily Pendleton, Michigan State’s Rebecca Buchholtz, Minnesota’s Chimerem Okoroji, Nebraska’s Ashley Miller, Ohio State’s Shaniqua McGinnis, Penn State’s Brooklyne Ridder, Purdue’s Terri Anderson and Wisconsin’s Carrie Edmunds. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Track Athlete of the Year
Christina Manning, Ohio State

Field Athlete of the Year
Leah Eber, Purdue



Freshman of the Year
Ashley Spencer, Illinois

Track Athlete of the Championships
Christina Manning, Ohio State

Field Athletes of the Championships
Dani Bunch, Purdue

Coach of the Year

Gary Pepin, Nebraska

First Team

Latoya Griffith, Illinois

Ashley Kelly, Illinois

Ashley Spencer, Illinois

Asia Thomas, Illinois

Monique Riddick, Indiana

Rebecca Addison, Michigan

Shannon Osika, Michigan

Jillian Smith, Michigan

Brittani Williams, Michigan

Rebecca Buchholtz, Michigan State

Breanna Bussel, Nebraska

Mara Griva, Nebraska

Ashley Miller, Nebraska

Christina Manning, Ohio State

Shaniqua McGinnis, Ohio State

Caitlin Lane, Penn State

Kara Millhouse, Penn State

Dani Bunch, Purdue

Leah Eber, Purdue

Dorcas Akinniyi, Wisconsin


Second Team

Breeana Coleman, Illinois

Stephanie Richartz, Illinois

Kelsie Ahbe, Indiana

Ruth Christopher, Indiana

Kelsey Duerksen, Indiana

Breanne Ehrman, Indiana

Antonia Franklin, Indiana

Emma Kimoto, Indiana

Tori Franklin, Michigan State

Brittany Lewis, Michigan State

Chesna Sykes, Ohio State

Ijeoma Iheoma, Penn State

Mahagony Jones, Penn State

Dynasty McGee, Penn State

Kirsten Nieuwendam, Penn State

Jessica Flax, Wisconsin