Big Ten Announces Women's Indoor Individual Honorees

March 1, 2011

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference office announced on Tuesday the 2011 All-Big Ten women's indoor track and field teams and individual award winners. Highlighting the list, Ohio State junior Christina Manning was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and Indiana senior Faith Sherrill earned the nod as Field Athlete of the Year. Purdue's Dani Bunch was tabbed Freshman of the Year by the conference coaches while Buckeye head coach Karen Dennis was named Coach of the Year by her peers. In addition, Manning was tabbed Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships, while Sherrill took home Field Athlete of the Championships laurels for their outstanding performances last weekend.

The conference also announced All-Big Ten first and second teams at the conclusion of the Championships on Sunday. The complete list of individual honorees and All-Conference teams are listed below.

The Big Ten Conference office recognizes student-athletes from each team with the Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for women's indoor track and field are, Illinois's Tamika Robinson, Indiana's Kristen Crawford, Iowa's Nicole Erickson, Michigan's Ada Unachukwu, Michigan State's Emily MacLeod Minnesota's Elizabeth Yetzer, Ohio State's Madison McNary, Penn State's Maura Ryan, Purdue's Stacey Wannemacher and Wisconsin's Jameice DeCoster. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Track Athlete of the Year
Christina Manning, Ohio State



Field Athlete of the Year
Faith Sherrill, Indiana

Freshman of the Year
Dani Bunch, Purdue

Track Athlete of the Championships
Christina Manning, Ohio State

Field Athletes of the Championships
Faith Sherrill, Indiana

Coach of the Year
Karen Dennis, Ohio State

First Team
Ashley Kelly, Illinois
Faith Sherrill, Indiana
Bethany Praska, Iowa
Rebecca Addison, Michigan
Alisha Cole, Michigan
Jillian Smith, Michigan
Danielle Tauro, Michigan
Emily MacLeod, Michigan State
Ashley Stacey, Michigan State
Samantha Sonnenberg, Minnesota
Doris Anyanwu, Penn State
Megan Duncan, Penn State
Shavon Greaves, Penn State
Ijeoma Iheoma, Penn State
Christina Manning, Ohio State
Madison McNary, Ohio State
Dani Bunch, Purdue
Leah Eber, Purdue
Dorcas Akinniyi, Wisconsin
Monika Jakutyte, Wisconsin

Second Team
Stephanie Morgan, Illinois
Kelsie Ahbe, Indiana
Monique Riddick, Indiana
Nicole Erickson, Iowa
Betsy Flood, Iowa
Tiffany Hendricks, Iowa
Ashley Liverpool, Iowa
Beth Rohl, Michigan State
Nyoka Giles, Minnesota
Kathryn Ritter, Minnesota
Nikki Swenson, Minnesota
Todea-Kay Willis, Minnesota
Elizabeth Yetzer, Minnesota
Alana Gray, Ohio State
Kelcey McKinney, Ohio State
Letecia Wright, Ohio State
Caitlin Lane, Penn State
Emily Breslin, Purdue
Brittney Harper, Wisconsin