Big Ten Announces Women's Indoor Individual Honorees

March 2, 2010

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Tuesday the 2010 All-Big Ten women’s indoor track and field teams and individual award winners. Highlighting the list, Penn State junior Shavon Greaves was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and Minnesota senior Alicia Rue earned the nod as Field Athlete of the Year. Michigan’s Jillian Smith was tabbed Freshman of the Year by the conference coaches while Nittany Lion head coach Beth Alford-Sullivan was named Coach of the Year by her peers. In addition, Nittany Lion senior Bridget Franek was tabbed Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships while seniors  Aja Evans of Illinois and Faith Sherrill of Indiana took home Field Co-Athletes of the Championships laurels for their outstanding performances over the weekend.

The Big Ten Conference office honors an individual from each team with the Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for men’s indoor track and field are, Illinois’s Angela Bizzarri, Indiana’s Ashley Rhoades,  Iowa’s McKenzie Melander, Michigan’s Danielle Tauro, Michigan State’s Rebecca Buchholtz, Minnesota’s Chimerem Okoroji, Ohio State’s Ashley Caldwell, Penn State’s Anna Muzio, Purdue’s Sarah Klaczynski and Wisconsin’s LaQuita Brazil.  These eleven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

The conference also announced All-Big Ten first and second teams at the conclusion of the Championships on Sunday. A complete list of individual honorees and All-Conference teams are listed below:

Track Athlete of the Year
Shavon Greaves, Penn State



Field Athlete of the Year
Alicia Rue, Minnesota

Freshman of the Year
Jillian Smith, Michigan

Track Athlete of the Championships
Bridget Franek, Penn State

Field Co-Athletes of the Championships
Aja Evans, Illinois
Faith Sherrill, Indiana

Coach of the Year
Beth Alford-Sullivan, Penn State

First Team
Angela Bizzari – Illinois
Aja Evans – Illinois
Molly Beckwith – Indiana
Ashley Rhoades - Indiana
Faith Sherrill – Indiana
Rebecca Addison – Michigan
Jillian Smith – Michigan
Danielle Tauro – Michigan
Shana Vinson- Michigan
Alicia Rue – Minnesota
Christina Manning - Ohio State
Shaniqua McGinnis - Ohio State
Doris Anyanwu – Penn State
Caitlin DeFusco – Penn State
Fawn Dorr – Penn State
Bridget Franek - Penn State
Shavon Greaves - Penn State
Christina Madison - Purdue
Chavon Robinson - Wisconsin
Dorcas Akinniyi - Wisconsin

Second Team
Alecia Beckford-Stewart - Illinois
Ryisha Boyd – Illinois
Ashley Kelly – Illinois
Marissa Golliday – Illinois
Melissa Bates - Illinois
Elizabeth Yetzer – Minnesota
Chioma Omeoga – Minnesota
Alena Brooks – Minnesota
Nikki Swenson – Minnesota
Samantha Sonnenberg – Minnesota
Letecia Wright - Ohio State
Nkeiru Ugwoaba - Purdue
Stacey Wannemacher - Purdue
Megan Seidl - Wisconsin