2011 NCAA Championships Review

March 13, 2011

Complete Results

Michigan led all Big Ten teams as competition came to a close at the 2011 NCAA Indoor Championships at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium on the campus of Texas A&M University on Saturday. The Wolverines tallied 12 team points to finish tied in 18th place. Rounding out the Big Ten contingent was Wisconsin (T36), Indiana (T36), Ohio State (T40), Penn State (T45), Illinois (T50), Iowa (T50), Minnesota (T50) and Michigan State (T57). Oregon earned the NCAA team crown with 67 points, followed by Texas with 38 and LSU with 37.

The Wolverines were led by sophomores Jillian Smith and Rebecca Addison, both earning All-America honors. Smith finished runner-up in the 800-meter run (2:04.78) while Addison placed eighth (2:07.68) as the duo combined for nine team points in the event.

Ohio State's Letecia Wright finished fifth overall in the 60-Meter Hurdles with a time of 8.10, collecting All-America honors for the first time in her career.

Minnesota senior Samantha Sonnenberg captured her second career All-America honor placing seventh in the pole vault, matching a season-best height clearing the bar at 13 feet, 11 ¼ inches.

Tamika Robinson of Illinois finished in seventh place on the final day of the Championships, crossing the finish line in 8.14 seconds. Robinson garnered All-America accolades for the first time during the indoor season.

Indiana's Faith Sherrill took fourth in the shot put with a throw of 17.08m (56-0.5). Sherrill had the best finish in the shot put indoors by a Hoosier since 1989.