Academic All-District Honors

May 25, 2017

The 2016-17 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District Men’s and Women's Track/Cross Country Teams have been released to recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. The list of honorees included 10 Big Ten standouts.

On the men's side, Illinois' David Kendziera, Michigan's Aaron Baumgarten and Will Sheeran, Minnesota's Derek Wiebke and Luca Wieland, Nebraska's Drew Wiseman and Wisconsin's Morgan McDonald were each first-team honorees. The recognition was the second in as many years for Wieland.

Three women from the conference were named to the first team in Indiana's Sydney Clute, Michigan's Erin Finn and Minnesota's Madeline Strandemo. Both Clute and Finn earned Academic All-District recognition last year.

First-team Academic All-District honorees advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees will be selected later this month.