Preseason All-Americans

Jan. 10, 2017

Seventeen Big Ten women's lacrosse players were named 2017 preseason All-Americans by Face-Off Yearbook, including four first-teamers.

Representing the conference on the preseason All-America first-team are Maryland's Nadine Hadnagy, Zoe Stukenberg and Megan Whittle, along with Penn State's Abby Smucker. All four students were unanimous selections to the 2016 All-Big Ten team, while Whittle was also named Big Ten Attack Player of the Year in 2016 after leading the conference in goals scored.

Maryland's Julia Braig was named to the second team, while third-team selections included Johns Hopkins' Haley Schweizer, Northwestern's Lindsay Darrell and Selena Lasota, and Penn State's Steph Lazo. Both Lasota and Lazo were selected to the All-Big Ten team a season ago.

Rounding out the All-America team as honorable mention selections are Johns Hopkins' Emily Kenul, Maryland's Megan Taylor and Caroline Wannen, Northwestern's Sheila Nesselbush, Penn State's Madison Carter, Katie O'Donnell and Natalie Schmitt, and Rutgers' Kristina Dunphey.

The 2017 Big Ten women's lacrosse season gets started on Sat., Feb. 4 when Michigan visits Oregon, while Penn State and Rutgers host Albany and Hofstra, respectively. The Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Maryland from May 5-7.

2017 Face-Off Yearbook: Preseason All-Americans

First Team
Nadine Hadnagy, Sr., D, Maryland
Zoe Stukenberg, Sr., M, Maryland
Megan Whittle, Jr., A, Maryland
Abby Smucker, Sr., M/D, Penn State

Second Team
Julia Braig, So., D, Maryland

Third Team
Haley Schweizer, Sr., M, Johns Hopkins
Lindsay Darrell, Jr., M/D, Northwestern
Selena Lasota, Jr., A, Northwestern
Steph Lazo, Sr., A, Penn State

Honorable Mention
Emily Kenul, Jr., A, Johns Hopkins
Megan Taylor, So., G, Maryland
Caroline Wannen, Sr., A, Maryland
Sheila Nesselbush, Jr., M, Northwestern
Madison Carter, So., A, Penn State
Katie O'Donnell, Jr., M, Penn State
Natalie Schmitt, Sr., D, Penn State
Kristina Dunphey, Sr., M, Rutgers