Big Ten Announces Television Schedule for 2016 Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse Seasons

Feb. 25, 2016

2016 Television Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The 2016 Big Ten men’s and women’s lacrosse seasons will feature a robust slate of television and online coverage, with nearly 70 games featuring Johns Hopkins, Maryland, Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers set to be carried on BTN, ESPNU or BTN Plus.

BTN will broadcast 24 games with the first taking place on Tuesday, March 15, when Ohio State’s men’s team hosts Towson. The first Big Ten women’s lacrosse game on BTN will feature Northwestern entertaining North Carolina on Sunday, March 20.

BTN will also provide live coverage of the 2016 Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse Tournaments. The network will air the semifinals of the men’s tournament, and carry the entire women’s event. The men’s tournament will be held from May 5-7 at Johns Hopkins, while the women’s event will be hosted by Northwestern from May 5-8.

B1G Close Up – BTN’s 60-minute, all-access special debuting at 9 p.m. ET on Thursday, April 7 – will focus its cameras on the Northwestern at Maryland women’s lacrosse game on Thursday, March 31. The Wildcats and Terrapins have combined to win 17 of the last 21 national championships, and BTN’s cameras will go behind-the-scenes with each program for 72 hours as they prepare for the highly-anticipated contest.

Thirteen men’s games are scheduled to air on ESPNU, including the championship game of the Big Ten Men’s Lacrosse Tournament. Ohio State will host UMBC on Friday, Feb. 26 to kick off the slate.

The six programs that comprise Big Ten men’s lacrosse boast 56 national championships, with schools that have competed for more than a century. Johns Hopkins has played since 1883 and leads all schools with 44 national championships. Maryland has claimed 11 national titles, while Rutgers has also won a national championship. The Scarlet Knights launched men's lacrosse in 1887, followed by programs starting in 1913 for Penn State, 1924 for Maryland, 1953 for Ohio State and 2012 for Michigan.

Big Ten women's lacrosse features teams that have won 25 national championships and 21 of the 34 NCAA Championships, including 10 of the last 11. Maryland won its 13th national championship last year, and claimed seven straight from 1995 to 2001. Northwestern has won seven NCAA titles, highlighted by five consecutive from 2005 to 2009 and most recently in 2012. Penn State has earned five national championships, including NCAA titles in 1987 and 1989.

A complete listing of Big Ten men’s and women’s lacrosse games set to appear on BTN Plus will be available on in the coming weeks, and is subject to change. Below and attached is the complete schedule of games to appear on BTN or ESPNU.