Big Ten Announces Inaugural Women's Lacrosse Honors

April 29, 2015

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The inaugural Big Ten women's lacrosse All-Conference team was announced on Wednesday, with outright Big Ten Champion Maryland claiming a conference-high eight selections. The All-Big Ten team was comprised of 20 standouts, including three attack players, three midfielders, three defenders and one goalkeeper, along with 10 at-large selections.

The Terrapins' All-Big Ten honorees included Taylor Cummings, Megan Douty, Alex Fitzpatrick, Brooke Griffin, Alice Mercer, Casey Pepperman, Zoe Stukenberg and Megan Whittle. Cummings, Douty, Griffin and Whittle were all named to the 25-member Tewaaraton Award nominee list. Top-ranked Maryland enters the Big Ten Tournament with an unblemished 17-0 record.

Northwestern's Selena Lasota and Sheila Nesselbush were both named to the All-Big Ten team. Lasota, who is also a Tewaaraton Award nominee, currently leads the Big Ten with 3.50 goals per game. Nesselbush is averaging 2.94 draw controls per game, and was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week on Feb. 9.

Ohio State saw four players earn All-Big Ten distinction, including Katie Chase, Jackie Cifarelli, Taylor Donahue and Jennifer Porretto. Chase ranks second in the Big Ten with 4.31 draw controls per game, Cifarelli leads the conference with 2.71 assists per contest, Donahue is third in the Big Ten with 1.29 caused turnovers per game and Porretto scored 12 goals during conference play.

Penn State claimed five All-Big Ten honors, including Tatum Coffey, Madison Cyr, Maggie McCormick, Emi Smith and Abby Smucker. Coffey averaged 2.00 points per game during Big Ten play, Cyr scored 26 goals and gathered a team-high 25 ground balls during the regular season, McCormick led the conference with 3.20 assists per game in conference play, Smith averaged 8.00 saves per game in the cage for the Nittany Lions and Smucker added 10 goals, 23 ground balls and 16 draw controls.

Rutgers' Lauren Sbrilli averaged 2.20 goals and 4.60 shots per game in conference play, which both ranked among the top 10 in the conference. The Scarlet Knights will host the inaugural Big Ten Tournament at High Point Solutions Stadium this week.

The Big Ten also announced six Sportsmanship Award Honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  This season's honorees are Maryland's Casey Pepperman, Michigan's Sophie duPhily, Northwestern's Brooke Jones, Ohio State's Mary Kate Facchina, Penn State's Maggie McCormick and Rutgers' Melissa Arthur.

The complete list of All-Conference honorees is attached. The individual award winners will be announced on Monday, May 4.