Big Ten Announces Inaugural Women's Lacrosse Individual Honors

May 4, 2015

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Following the inaugural season of Big Ten women's lacrosse, the conference office on Monday announced the 2015 All-Big Ten individual honors. Big Ten Champion Maryland earned three awards, with Brooke Griffin claiming Attack Player of the Year honors, Taylor Cummings named Midfielder of the Year and Megan Douty collecting Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Northwestern's Selena Lasota was tabbed the Freshman of the Year, while Penn State's Emi Smith and mentor Missy Doherty were unanimous selections for Big Ten Goaltender and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Entering the NCAA Tournament, Griffin has scored 39 goals and tallied 18 assists for a total of 57 points. A unanimous All-Big Ten selection, Griffin helped lead the Terrapins claim the outright Big Ten Championship and No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Cummings, the reigning Tewaarton Award winner, currently leads the Big Ten in points (4.56), ground balls (2.17), draw controls (6.94) and caused turnovers (1.83) per game. She has scored 53 goals and tallied a team-high 29 assists on the season. Maryland's Douty has anchored a defensive unit that leads the Big Ten in goals-against average (7.28) and save percentage (.474). Douty has started all 17 games in which she has played in, recording 24 ground balls. She helped the Terrapins hold four Big Ten opponents to nine goals or fewer en route to an unbeaten regular season.

Lasota currently ranks second in the Big Ten with 3.22 goals and 3.67 points per game. She scored 13 free position goals on the season, and led the Wildcats to the No. 8 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Northwestern will host the tournament's first round on Friday.

Smith recorded 8.00 saves per game, and posted a 9.56 goals-against average and .471 save percentage in Big Ten play. During the Nittany Lions' run to the Big Ten Tournament Championship, Smith recorded 14 total saves in wins over Northwestern and Ohio State. She was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week on three occasions.



Doherty guided Penn State to 14 wins, the inaugural Big Ten Tournament Championship and the program's 21st appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Nittany Lions, who head into the postseason having won nine of their last 10 games, rank second in the Big Ten in scoring (13.61 goals per game), caused turnovers per game (8.44) and goals-against average (9.17).

The complete list of 2015 All-Big Ten individual award winners is below.

Attack Player of the Year
Brooke Griffin, Maryland

Midfielder of the Year
Taylor Cummings, Maryland

Defensive Player of the Year
Megan Douty, Maryland

Goaltender of the Year
EMI SMITH, Penn State

Freshman of the Year
Selena Lasota, Northwestern

Coach of the Year

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS