Women's Lacrosse Tournament Champions

May 7, 2017

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The top-seeded Maryland women’s lacrosse team won the 2017 Big Ten Tournament title after posting a 14-6 win over third-seeded Northwestern in the championship game at the Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex on Sunday. The tournament title is the second consecutive for the Terrapins.

Maryland used a five-goal spurt to start the second half, which broke open a 6-4 lead at the intermission. The Terrapins’ Caroline Steele led the offensive attack with four goals on the afternoon, while Kali Hartshorn and Zoe Stukenberg each chipped in with three goals and one assist apiece. Megan Whittle (1G, 2A), Jen Giles (1G, 3A) and Caroline Wannen (3A) also registered multiple-point games. Goalkeeper Megan Taylor ended the game with 16 saves to help lead the Terps to victory. Northwestern was led offensively by Nicole Beardsley with two goals, and Christina Esposito with one goal and two assists.

Steele was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player after scoring nine goals in two games, leading a group of five Terrapins on the All-Tournament Team.

Maryland improved to 19-0 on the season, and earns the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air on NCAA.com tonight at 9 p.m. ET.

Below is the 2017 Big Ten Women’s Lacrosse All-Tournament Team:

All-Tournament Team
Shannon Fitzgerald, Johns Hopkins
Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland
Caroline Steele, Maryland
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland
Megan Taylor, Maryland
Megan Whittle, Maryland
Nicole Beardsley, Northwestern
Lindsay Darrell, Northwestern
Christina Esposito, Northwestern
Ally Mueller, Northwestern
Kayla Brisolari, Penn State
Erika Spilker, Penn State

MVP – Caroline Steele, Maryland