Women's Lacrosse Individual Honors

May 8, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Following the conclusion of the Big Ten Women's Lacrosse Tournament, the conference office on Monday announced the 2017 All-Big Ten individual honors. Big Ten Champion and Tournament Champion Maryland earned five awards, with Zoe Stukenberg claiming Midfielder of the Year honors, Nadine Hadnagy earning Defensive Player of the Year accolades, Megan Taylor tabbed Goaltender of the Year, Kali Hartshorn named Freshman of the Year, and mentor Cathy Reese claiming Coach of the Year honors. Penn State's Steph Lazo was named the Big Ten Attack Player of the Year.

Lazo heads into the NCAA Tournament leading the conference in points (82), points per game (4.56), assists (39) and assists per game (2.17), while she also ranks sixth with 2.39 goals per game. A unanimous All-Big Ten selection, Lazo helped lead the Nittany Lions to the second seed in last week's Big Ten Tournament, as well as the No. 4 national seed in the upcoming NCAA Tournament.

Stukenberg earned Big Ten Midfielder of the Year honors, marking the third consecutive year a Terrapin has won the award (Taylor Cummings won in 2015 and 2016). Also an All-Tournament selection, Stukenberg ranks in the conference top-10 across multiple statistical categories, including goals per game, assists per game, points per game, ground balls per game and draw controls per game.

Hadnagy was voted the Defensive Player of the Year, and has led a defensive unit that sits atop the Big Ten in goals-against average (9.21), save percentage (.541) and caused turnovers (168). The senior All-Tournament selection finished the year with 25 ground balls and 23 caused turnovers.

Taylor was named Big Ten Goaltender of the Year for the second time in as many seasons, and leads the Big Ten in goals-against average (9.18) and save percentage (.549). She started 17 games in net, and helped the Terrapins limit 12 opponents to 10 goals or less. Taylor gave up just 34 goals and made 34 saves in five conference games.

Hartshorn emerged as an offensive force during her first campaign for the Terrapins, tallying 49 goals and 60 points in 19 games this season. She finished fourth in the conference with 2.58 goals per game, and was named Big Ten Freshman of the Week five times this season.

Reese has guided Maryland to a perfect 19-0 record, the program's third straight outright Big Ten Championship, the second consecutive Big Ten Tournament title and its 33rd NCAA Tournament appearance, which leads the nation. Reese wins the honor for the second straight season.

The complete list of 2017 All-Big Ten individual award winners is below.

Attack Player of the Year
Steph Lazo, Penn State

Midfielder of the Year
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland

Defensive Player of the Year
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland

Goaltender of the Year
Megan Taylor, Maryland

Freshman of the Year
Kali Hartshorn, Maryland

Coach of the Year

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS