Big Ten Announces Women’s Lacrosse Individual Honors

May 9, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Following the conclusion of the Big Ten Women’s Lacrosse Tournament, the conference office on Monday announced the 2016 All-Big Ten individual honors. Big Ten Champion and Tournament Champion Maryland earned five awards, with Megan Whittle claiming Attack Player of the Year honors, Taylor Cummings named Midfielder of the Year, Alice Mercer earning Defensive Player of the Year accolades, Megan Taylor tabbed Goaltender of the Year and mentor Cathy Reese claiming Coach of the Year honors. Penn State’s Madison Carter was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Entering the NCAA Tournament, Whittle has scored a conference-high 61 goals and also leads the Big Ten with 130 shots. A unanimous All-Big Ten selection, Whittle helped the Terrapins claim the outright Big Ten Championship, conference tournament title and No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament. Cummings was the unanimous selection as Big Ten Midfielder of the Year, earning the honor for the second consecutive season. She leads the Big Ten in ground balls (3.00), draw controls (6.53) and caused turnovers (2.26) per game. Cummings was named the Most Valuable Player of the Big Ten Tournament.

Mercer, who was voted the unanimous Defensive Player of the Year, has anchored a defensive unit that leads the Big Ten in goals-against average (6.84), save percentage (.447) and ground balls per game (17.2). In conference games only, Mercer tied for second in the Big Ten with 1.60 caused turnovers per game, and was tied for fifth with 1.80 ground balls per contest.

Taylor leads the Big Ten in goals-against average (6.41) and save percentage (.474). She started 18 games in the cage, and helped the Terrapins limit 14 opponents to eight goals or less. Taylor gave up just 25 goals in five conference games.

In conference games only, Carter tied for fourth in the Big Ten with 3.00 goals per game and was fourth with 3.80 draw controls per outing. Carter claimed two Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors and five Freshman of the Week awards during the regular season.



Reese has guided Maryland to an unblemished 19-0 record, the program’s second straight outright Big Ten Championship, the Big Ten Tournament title and its 32nd NCAA Tournament appearance, which leads the nation. The Terrapins had six players earn unanimous All-Big Ten distinction.

The complete list of 2016 All-Big Ten individual award winners is below.

Attack Player of the Year
Megan Whittle, Maryland

Midfielder of the Year

Defensive Player of the Year

Goaltender of the Year
Megan Taylor, Maryland

Freshman of the Year
Madison Carter, Penn State

Coach of the Year
Cathy Reese, Maryland

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS