Women's Lacrosse NCAA Tournament Release

May 11, 2017

WLAX NCAA Tournament Release Get Acrobat Reader

NCAA Tournament Preview

Three Big Ten teams were selected to the 2017 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Tournament, as announced on the NCAA Selection Show Sunday night. Maryland, Northwestern and Penn State will represent the conference in this year's bracket, with the Terrapins earning the No. 1 overall seed in the tournament.

Maryland received a bye in the opening round and will host the winner of Friday’s Towson vs. High Point game in the second round on Sunday, May 14. Maryland earned the outright Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament title, and enters the NCAA Tournament with a perfect 19-0 record. The Terps will be making their 33rd appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 28th straight trip.

Penn State earned the No. 4 overall seed and an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament after going 15-3 overall, including a 5-1 mark in conference play. The Nittany Lions will host the winner of James Madison vs. Louisville on Sunday, May 14. Penn State is making its 23rd trip to the NCAA Tournament and secures its sixth straight appearance after earning a trip to championship weekend a season ago.

Northwestern will face Albany in the first round on Friday, May 12 in Stony Brook, N.Y. The Wildcats earned an at-large bid after posting a 10-9 overall record, including a 4-2 mark in Big Ten play. Northwestern is making its 19th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 14th consecutive trip. The winner of the Northwestern vs. Albany game will face the winner of No. 8 Stony Brook vs. Bryant in Sunday’s second round.

Eight sites will host first- and second-round competition on May 12 and May 14, and four quarterfinal games will be played on May 20 or May 21. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final on May 26 and May 28, respectively, at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPN3 on May 26 at 5 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., while the championship game will air on ESPNU at 11 a.m. ET on May 28.