Big Ten Women's Lacrosse NCAA Tournament Release

May 12, 2016

NCAA Tournament Release Get Acrobat Reader

Penn State-Winthrop Notes

Northwestern-Louisville Notes

Maryland-Johns Hopkins Notes


Three Big Ten teams were selected to the 2016 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Tournament. Maryland, Northwestern and Penn State will represent the conference in this year's bracket, with the Terrapins earning the No. 1 overall seed in the tournament.

Maryland received a bye in the opening round. The Terrapins will host Johns Hopkins in the second round on Sunday, May 15. Maryland earned the outright Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament title, and enters the NCAA Tournament with an unblemished 19-0 record. The Terps will be making their 32nd appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 27th straight trip.

Northwestern will face Louisville in the first round on Friday, May 13 in South Bend, Ind. The Wildcats and Cardinals will meet in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament for the second straight year. Northwestern earned an at-large bid after posting a 10-9 overall record, including a 3-2 mark in Big Ten play. Northwestern is making its 18th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 13th consecutive trip.

Penn State earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament after going 11-6 overall, including a 3-2 mark in conference play. The Nittany Lions will face Winthrop in Gainesville, Fla., on May 13. Penn State is making its 22nd trip to the NCAA Tournament and secures its fifth straight appearance.

Eight sites will host first- and second-round competition on May 13 and May 15, and four quarterfinal games will be played on May 21 or May 22. The semifinals and final will be held May 27 and May 29 at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia.