WLAX NCAA Quarterfinal Central

May 15, 2015

Following its 17-5 victory over Northwestern in Sunday's NCAA quarterfinals, Maryland's women's lacrosse team secured its seventh straight Final Four appearance. The Terrapins will take on fourth-seeded Syracuse in next Friday's national semifinals at PPL Park in Philadelphia.

Big Ten Attack Player of the Year Brooke Griffin and Kristen Lamon each scored four goals in the game, while Erin Collins added a hat trick and Kelly McPartland scored two goals and recorded three assists. Northwestern was paced by Big Ten Freshman of the Year Selena Lasota and Sheila Nesselbush, who each scored two goals.

The Terrapins will take on Syracuse in the NCAA semifinals on Friday at either 5 p.m. or 7:30 p.m. ET. Maryland defeated the Orange, 10-7, on March 7 in College Park. Northwestern ends its season with a 14-7 record.

NCAA Quarterfinal ReleaseGet Acrobat Reader


Fetzer Field (Chapel Hill, N.C.)
• Saturday, May 16
#2 North Carolina def. #7 PENN STATE, 11-8
The No. 7 Nittany Lion women's lacrosse team saw its season end in the NCAA Quarterfinals as No. 2 North Carolina used a 7-0 second-half run to defeat Penn State, 11-8, at Fetzer Field on Saturday afternoon. For the first time all season, Penn State (16-5) was unable to hold a halftime lead as North Carolina (17-3) maintained possession and rallied by PSU. After opening an 8-4 lead with 28:47 left in the game, the Tar Heels reeled off seven straight goals to reach the NCAA Semifinals. PENN STATE RELEASE

Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex (College Park, Md.)
• Sunday, May 17

Rankings: Inside Lacrosse

Three Big Ten teams advanced to the 2015 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Tournament Quarterfinals, which will get underway on Saturday, May 16. Penn State will travel to North Carolina on Saturday, while top-seeded Maryland will host Northwestern on Sunday.

Maryland advanced to the quarterfinals after defeating Massachusetts in the second round. The Terps claimed the outright Big Ten Championship, and are 18-1 on the season. Maryland's Brooke Griffin was named the Big Ten Attack Player of the Year, while Taylor Cummings claimed Midfielder of the Year honors and Megan Douty was tabbed the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

Northwestern, which claimed the No. 8 seed in the NCAA Tournament, defeated Louisville and Notre Dame last weekend to advance to the quarterfinals. The Wildcats are 14-6 overall, and have won four of their last five games. Northwestern is led by Selena Lasota, the leading goal scorer in the Big Ten and the conference's Freshman of the Year.

Maryland recorded a 16-5 win over host Northwestern in the Big Ten opener for both teams on March 26.

Penn State (16-4), which earned the Big Ten's automatic berth to the NCAA Championship after claiming the inaugural Big Ten Tournament title, has won 11 of its last 12 games. The Nittany Lions' Emi Smith was named the Big Ten Goaltender of the Year, and mentor Missy Doherty was tabbed the Coach of the Year.

The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Saint Joseph's University May 22 and 24 at PPL Park in Philadelphia. The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPN3 at 5 and 7:30 p.m. ET on May 22. The championship game will air on ESPNU at 8:30 p.m., on May 24.