WLAX Final Four Preview

May 21, 2015

Maryland Advances to National Championship Game

Final Four Release
 Get Acrobat Reader


The inaugural season of Big Ten women's lacrosse will conclude with Maryland participating in its seventh straight Final Four this weekend. The top-seeded Terrapins will take on fourth-seeded Syracuse on Friday beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET in the national semifinals.

Maryland advanced to the Final Four after defeating Northwestern in the quarterfinals. The Terps claimed the outright Big Ten Championship, and are 19-1 on the season. Maryland's Brooke Griffin was named the Big Ten Attack Player of the Year, while Taylor Cummings claimed Midfielder of the Year honors and Megan Douty was tabbed the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. All three standouts were named IWLCA first-team All-Americans earlier this week, while Alice Mercer and Megan Whittle claimed second-team All-America honors.

The Terrapins currently rank among the top-five in the nation in both scoring offense (14.55 goals per game) and scoring defense (7.20 goals allowed per game). Through two NCAA games, the Terps are averaging 18.00 goals per game while limiting opponents to just 6.50 goals per contest.

Maryland owns a decisive 19-1 all-time series advantage over Syracuse. The Terrapins and Orange will be meeting for the fifth time in the past two seasons, and for the fourth time in the national semifinals.

The other national semifinal features second-seeded North Carolina taking on third-seeded Duke. The winners of the Maryland-Syracuse and North Carolina-Duke matches will meet for the national championship on Sunday, May 24 at PPL Park.


PPL Park (Philadelphia, Pa.)
• Friday, May 22
#2 North Carolina def. #6 Duke, 16-7

#1 MARYLAND def. #3 Syracuse, 10-8

PPL Park (Philadelphia, Pa.)
• Sunday, May 24

North Carolina vs. MARYLAND, 8:30 p.m. (ESPNU)

All times Eastern
Rankings: Inside Lacrosse