Maryland Women's Lacrosse Repeats as National Champions

May 24, 2015

PHILADELPHIA - Following its 9-8 victory over North Carolina in Sunday's NCAA championship game, Maryland's women's lacrosse team won its second straight national title and 13th overall. The top-seeded Terrapins became the first team to repeat as national champions since fellow Big Ten member Northwestern won back-to-back titles in 2011 and 2012.

Maryland's Taylor Cummings and Megan Whittle each tallied hat tricks, while goalkeeper Alex Fitzpatrick recorded four saves. The Terps overcame a 6-3 deficit at halftime, outscoring the Tar Heels 6-2 in the second frame. Maryland finishes its season with a 21-1 record after capturing the inaugural Big Ten Championship, and winning its third national title under head coach Cathy Reese.

Big Ten schools have now claimed nine national titles so far this academic year, matching the conference single-season record set in 1999-2000. The Terrapins' women's lacrosse team joins Michigan State women's cross country, Minnesota women's ice hockey, Nebraska bowling, Ohio State football, open pistol, synchronized swimming and wrestling and Penn State volleyball as national champions in 2014-15.