Stukenberg Named NCAA Elite 90 Winner

May 25, 2017

Release from the University of Maryland Department of Athletics:

BOSTON – For the third straight year, senior midfielder Zoe Stukenberg was recognized as the recipient of the Elite 90 Award for the 2017 Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship on Thursday.

The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 90 championships. Stukenberg graduated last week with a 4.0 GPA and a degree in biological sciences. The honor was announced at the NCAA lacrosse banquet.

Stukenberg is just the fourth student-athlete in the history of the award to win the Elite 90 three times.

“Zoe is such a hard worker and leader both on and off the field,” head coach Cathy Reese said. “This is an incredible honor for her as well as for the program. Zoe is an amazing player and person, and we’re so proud of how she represents Maryland lacrosse." 

Stukenberg is a 2017 IWLCA First Team All-American and one of five Tewaaraton Award finalists. She was also selected as the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and to the All-Big Ten and Big Ten All-Tournament teams. The Ellicott City, Md., native ranks in the top three on the team in every statistical category, including 50 goals, 26 assists, 76 points, 44 ground balls, 67 draw controls and 18 caused turnovers – all of which are career highs. Earlier this month, Stukenberg was also named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District team.

“I want to congratulate Zoe on earning this prestigious honor once again,” said director of athletics Kevin Anderson. “She has shown her commitment to academic excellence during her time at College Park, and she is truly deserving of the Elite 90. Zoe is a tremendous role model and leader and an outstanding representative of Maryland Athletics.”

The top-seeded Terps (21-0) take on fourth-seeded Penn State (17-3) in the NCAA Championship semifinals Friday at 5 p.m. at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. The game will be streamed on ESPN3.