Big Ten Recognizes Spring and At-Large Sports Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

May 28, 2014


Spring 2014 and At-Large Academic All-Big Ten Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten Conference on Wednesday recognized a total of 1,216 spring and at-large sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honored student-athletes features 96 baseball players, 105 softball players, 126 women's rowers, 45 men's and 49 women's golfers, 53 men's and 48 women's tennis athletes, 169 men's and 256 women's track and field standouts and 86 men's (representing fencing, lacrosse, rifle and pistol, rowing and volleyball) and 183 women's (representing bowling, fencing, ice hockey, lacrosse, lightweight rowing, rifle and pistol, sand volleyball, synchronized swimming and water polo) at-large athletes. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 16 spring and at-large student-athletes have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Evan Bechtel, Ohio State men's tennis (So., Finance)
Alena Brooks, Minnesota women's track & field (Gr., Applied Kinesiology)
Mike D'Alessio, Michigan men's lacrosse (So., Business Administration)
Katelyn Daniels, Michigan State women's track & field (So., Animal Science)
Kimberly Dinh, Wisconsin women's golf (Sr., Chemistry/Chemical Engineering)
Emily Giannotti, Penn State women's track & field (Sr., Counselor Education)
Samantha Ginther, Indiana women's track & field (Gr., Professional Health Education)
Anne Martin, Nebraska women's track & field (Gr., Teaching, Learning & Teacher Education)
Skylar McSorley, Iowa women's rowing (Jr., Speech & Hearing Science)
Minori Minagawa, Ohio State women's track & field (So., Exercise Science)
Alana O'Mara, Michigan State women's track & field (So., Lyman Briggs College)
Cassy Opitz, Minnesota women's track & field (Gr., Human Resource Development)
Lindsay Reihl, Penn State women's ice hockey (Sr., Psychology)
Kathleen Rodden, Penn State women's track & field (Jr., Kinesiology)
Taylor Zimprich, Wisconsin women's track & field (So., Business: Accounting)
Garrett Zuk, Michigan State men's track & field (Jr., Mathematics)

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program.

The complete listing of 2014 Academic All-Big Ten honorees for spring and at-large sports is available using the link above.