Cummings Repeats as Tewaaraton Award Recipient

May 29, 2015

WASHINGTON, D.C. - After leading Maryland women's lacrosse to its second consecutive national championship last Sunday, junior midfielder Taylor Cummings captured the prestigious 2015 Tewaaraton Award Friday.

The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to the most outstanding American college lacrosse player. In its 15th year, the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony took place at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

Cummings also captured the award in 2014 and became the youngest two-time female recipient of the Tewaaraton. The Ellicott City, Md., native became Maryland's sixth overall winner and fourth straight. She is the Terps' second two-time recipient after Katie Schwarzmann earned the prize in 2012 and 2013.

Cummings posted her best season to date in 2015 as she led Maryland to its 13th national title. She led the Terps in assists (37), points (100), ground balls (41), draw controls (143) and caused turnovers (36), all of which were personal bests. Cummings tied her personal record and was second on the team with 63 goals.

Also a member of the U.S. Women's National Team, Cummings earned Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and All-Big Ten honors and became a three-time IWLCA First Team All-American. She was named the NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player for the second season in a row after leading the Terps to victories over Syracuse and North Carolina in the Final Four.

Cummings joins Jen Adams (2001), Caitlyn McFadden (2010) and Schwarzmann as Terrapins to take home the nation's top collegiate individual honor, and is the seventh player from a current Big Ten institution to claim the accolade.

Tewaaraton Award Recipients
2015 - Taylor Cummings, Maryland
2014 - Taylor Cummings, Maryland
2013 - Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2012 - Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2011 - Shannon Smith, Northwestern
2010 - Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
2009 - Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
2008 - Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
2007 - Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern
2006 - Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern
2005 - Katie Chrest, Duke
2004 - Amy Appelt, Virginia
2003 - Rachael Becker, Princeton
2002 - Erin Elbe, Georgetown
2001 - Jen Adams, Maryland