Spring and At-Large Academic All-Big Ten Honorees Announced

2016 Spring Academic All-Big Ten Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten Conference on Wednesday recognized a total of 1,537 students competing in spring and at-large sports who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honorees features 140 in baseball, 153 in softball, 174 in women’s rowing, 64 in men’s and 64 in women’s golf, 82 in men’s and 90 in women’s lacrosse, 63 in men’s and 76 in women’s tennis, 186 in men’s and 228 in women’s track and field and 50 in men’s (representing fencing, rifle and pistol, rowing and volleyball) and 167 in women’s (representing bowling, fencing, ice hockey, lightweight rowing, rifle and pistol, sand volleyball, synchronized swimming and water polo) at-large sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 23 students competing in spring and at-large sports have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Lexi Baylis, Michigan State women’s tennis (Jr., Mechanical Engineering)
Joanna Beaton, Michigan State women’s rowing (Gr., Kinesiology)
Alex Beckman, Minnesota women’s track & field (Sr., Integrative Therapies & Healing Practices)
Amanda Beckman, Minnesota women’s track & field (Sr., Integrative Therapies & Healing Practices)
Robert Browning, Indiana men’s track & field (So., Business Finance And Analytics)
Dan Chmiewlewski, Michigan State baseball (So., Psychology)
Sydney Clute, Indiana women’s track & field (Sr., Tourism Management)
Nicole Flower, Ohio State women’s tennis (Gr., Sport Industry)
Mattie Fowler, Nebraska softball (Gr., Business)
Ryan Haag, Michigan State men’s track & field (Sr., Public Health)
Michael Hyc, Illinois men’s track & field (So., Accountancy)
Jess Lehman, Minnesota women’s track & field (Gr., Special Education)
Skylar McSorley, Iowa women’s rowing (Sr., Speech & Hearing Science)
Angela Mercurio, Nebraska women’s track & field (So., Biochemistry)
Minori Minagawa, Ohio State women’s track & field (Sr., Exercise Science)
Halley Morell, Penn State women’s golf (Sr., Communication Arts And Sciences)
Britten Petrey, Illinois women’s track & field (Sr., Recreation, Sport & Tourism)
Zack Smith, Illinois men’s track & field (So., Accountancy)
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland women’s lacrosse (Jr., Biological Sciences: General Biology)
Lyndsey Thorpe, Minnesota women’s track & field (Gr., Applied Kinesiology)
Kaila Urick, Minnesota women’s track & field (Sr., Human Resource Development)
Grant Weaver, Ohio State men’s golf (Sr., Sport Industry)
Kristina Zalewski, Michigan State softball (Jr., Nutritional Sciences)

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Students eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying students must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.

The complete listing of 2016 Academic All-Big Ten honorees for spring and at-large sports is linked above.