Cummings, Mercer Named Honda Award Finalists

June 1, 2016

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Recent graduates Taylor Cummings and Alice Mercer of the Maryland women’s lacrosse team were named two of the four nominees for the Honda Sport Award, as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Womens Sports Awards Wednesday.

Cummings and Mercer are also finalists for the 2016 Tewaaraton Award. The senior captains helped lead the Terps to a 22-1 record this season as the team reached the NCAA Championship game for the fourth straight year. The duo put up an 88-4 record in their four seasons as starters, including a 44-0 record in College Park.

The winner of the 2014 and 2015 Honda Awards, Cummings is a four-time IWLCA First Team All-American and a two-time IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year and Big Ten Midfielder of the Year. The Ellicott City, Md., native posted 144 draw controls and 52 caused turnovers, setting the Maryland single-season record in both categories. She also notched 60 goals, 19 assists, 79 points and 62 ground balls.

The 2016 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Mercer led Maryland’s eighth-ranked defense. She posted 39 ground balls, 16 draw controls and 31 caused turnovers this season. The Woodbine, Md., native is a three-time IWLCA All-American and a two-time All-Big Ten honoree.

Syracuse’s Kayla Treanor and Notre Dame’s Barbara Sullivan are the other two Honda Award finalists.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 40 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2016 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on CBS Sports Network on June 27, 2016, in the Founders’ Room at the Galen Center on the campus of the University of Southern California in downtown Los, Angeles.

The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA). The Honda Sport award winner for lacrosse will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.