Three Terrapins Earn Top IWLCA Honors

June 4, 2017

Release from the University of Maryland Department of Athletics:

HUNT VALLEY, Md. — Maryland women’s lacrosse’s Zoe Stukenberg, Nadine Hadnagy and Megan Taylor earned the IWLCA’s top positional honors at the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association All-America banquet Saturday.

Stukenberg was named National Midfielder of the Year, Hadnagy was tabbed as National Defender of the Year and Taylor earned National Goalie of the Year honors. 

The trio helped Maryland to a 23-0 record and the Big Ten regular season, Big Ten tournament and NCAA Championship titles. All three were named IWLCA First Team All-Americans. As the Terps’ senior captains, Stukenberg and Hadnagy helped lead the team to an 89-3 overall record in their four years.

The 2017 Tewaaraton Award recipient, Stukenberg was also named the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year. She ranked in the top three of every statistical category for the Terps this season, including 53 goals, 31 assists, 84 points, 48 ground balls, 74 draw controls and 21 caused turnovers. The Ellicott City, Md., native was named to the All-Big Ten, Big Ten All-Tournament and NCAA All-Tournament teams, and was selected as a Honda Award finalist this week.

The 2017 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and a Tewaaraton finalist, Hadnagy led Maryland’s defense this season. She was an All-Big Ten and Big Ten All-Tournament selection and ranked second on the team with 26 caused turnovers.

As just a sophomore, Taylor emerged as one of the top goalies in the nation. She repeated as the Big Ten Goaltender of the Year and finished the year ranked third nationally with a .535 save percentage. Taylor was a Tewaaraton nominee, and set a career high with 20 saves against then-No. 3 Florida this year.

This is the eighth consecutive year Maryland has earned multiple honors at the IWLCA banquet. In 2016, Taylor Cummings and Alice Mercer were selected as the top midfielder and defender. In 2014 and 2015, Cummings and Megan Douty were named the top midfielder and defender. In 2013, Alex Aust and Katie Schwarzmann earned top attacker and midfielder honors. Schwarzmann and Iliana Sanza were named top midfielder and defender of the year in 2012, and Schwarzmann and Brittany Dipper were named top midfielder and goalie in 2011. Caitlyn Phipps and Karissa Taylor grabbed top midfielder and defender accolades in 2010.

Maryland has captured the IWLCA’s top midfielder honors for 10 straight seasons (Dana Dobbie, 2008; Phipps, 2009-10; Schwarzmann, 2011-13; Cummings, 2014-16; Stukenberg, 2017). The Terps have also had the last four defenders of the year (Megan Douty, 2014-15; Alice Mercer, 2016; Hadnagy, 2017).