Cummings Wins Third Straight Honda Award

June 7, 2016

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Maryland's Taylor Cummings was named the Honda Sport Award winner for lacrosse for the third straight year, as announced by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 40 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics.”

“It’s an incredible honor to win the prestigious Honda Award again,” Cummings said. “My successes on the field wouldn’t have been possible without the support and encouragement from my coaches, teammates and family. I’ve had the best four years of my life in College Park and I’m forever grateful to be a Terp.”

The first-ever three-time Tewaaraton winner, Cummings is a four-time IWLCA First Team All-American and a three-time IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year. One of the most decorated players in lacrosse history, she was also named the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year for the second straight season.

The Ellicott City, Md., native posted 144 draw controls and 52 caused turnovers, setting the Maryland single-season record in both categories. She also notched 60 goals, 19 assists, 79 points and 62 ground balls. Cummings was also named to the All-Big Ten, Big Ten All-Tournament and NCAA All-Tournament teams as well as the Big Ten Tournament MVP.

This season, Cummings set the Maryland single-season records for draw controls (144) and caused turnovers (52) this season. She finished her Maryland career ranked in multiple Terrapin record book categories: third in goals (229), ninth in assists (94), second in points (323) and first in draw controls (509).

“We are so proud of Taylor and the incredible career she had at Maryland,” Maryland head coach Cathy Reese said. “She’s a truly special player and person, and was a great leader for the team. This is a tremendous honor for both Taylor and our program.”



With this honor, Cummings becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2016 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on CBS Sports Network on June 27, 2016, in the Founders’ Room at the Galen Center on the campus of the University of Southern California in downtown Los Angeles.

Cummings was chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Finalists included Alice Mercer (Maryland), Barbara Sullivan (Notre Dame) and Kayla Treanor (Syracuse).