Rowing Opens 2016 Campaign

March 11, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Big Ten rowing opens the 2016 campaign this weekend with Michigan, Michigan State and Minnesota competing in the first meet of the season. All three squads will travel to Oak Ridge, Tenn., for the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational.

Ohio State and Rutgers will open their seasons later this month, while Indiana, Iowa and Wisconsin will begin in April.

Ohio State claimed the 2015 Big Ten Rowing Championship, the program's sixth conference title and fourth since 2011. Buckeye boats took first place in six of seven events. Following the conference championships, Ohio State went on to win their third consecutive NCAA title, which is also the third in Big Ten history. The Buckeyes' first-varsity eights claimed an individual boat title at the national championships.

The 2016 Big Ten Rowing Championships are set for May 14-15.