Rowing Opens 2014 Season This Weekend

Ohio State won Big Ten & NCAA titles last season.

March 13, 2014

Rosemont, Ill. -

Big Ten rowing opens the 2014 campaign this weekend, with Michigan State, Minnesota and Wisconsin traveling to Oak Ridge, Tenn., for the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational in the first meet of the season. All seven of the Big Ten rowing squads will compete in their first regattas in March.

Iowa follows the Gophers and Badgers a week later, competing in its season opener on March 22 against Clemson, Duke and Kansas in Clemson, S.C. Indiana, Michigan and Ohio State open their seasons on March 29. The Buckeyes host the Wolverines in Columbus, Ohio, while Indiana welcomes Dayton and Duquesne to Bloomington, Ind.

Ohio State claimed the 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championship, the program's fourth conference title and second in the last three years. Buckeye boats took first place in five out of the seven events. Following the conference championships, Ohio State went on to win the 2013 NCAA title, marking the first time a Big Ten team took home the national crown. The Buckeye second varsity eight and varsity four boats claimed individual boat titles at the national championships.