Rowing Opens 2015 Season

March 13, 2015

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Big Ten rowing opens the 2015 campaign this weekend, with Michigan State and Minnesota competing in the first meets of the season. Michigan State will travel to Oak Ridge, Tenn., for the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational, while Minnesota is set to compete in Knoxville, Tenn., in the Louisville Challenge.

Indiana, Michigan, Ohio State and Rutgers will open their seasons later this month, while Iowa and Wisconsin will begin in April.

Ohio State claimed the 2014 Big Ten Rowing Championship, the program's fifth conference title and third since 2011. Buckeye boats took first place in five of seven events. Following the conference championships, Ohio State went on to win their second consecutive NCAA title, which is also the second in Big Ten history. The Buckeyes' first- and second-varsity eights claimed individual boat titles at the national championships.