BTN to Televise Eight Spring Championships in May

April 18, 2012

CHICAGO - The Big Ten Network is the home for complete coverage of Big Ten spring championships in May, televising events in the sports of baseball, men's and women's golf, rowing, men's and women's tennis and men's and women's outdoor track and field. Each of these events will be produced in high definition.

Broadcast coverage of the Big Ten's spring championships begins at 6 PM ET on Wednesday, May 9, with the Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament from Ohio State. The Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament, hosted by Northwestern, is at 6 PM ET on Thursday, May 10. The Ohio State men's and Northwestern women's teams look to defend their Big Ten Tournament crowns from a year ago.

The Big Ten Men's Golf Championships will air at 10 AM ET on Sunday, May 13, with the Big Ten Women's Golf Championships directly following at 11 AM ET. Both will be televised from French Lick, IN. The Illinois men's team and Michigan State women's team will both look to defend their titles from 2011.

At noon ET on Sunday, May 20, the network will provide coverage of the Big Ten Men's and Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championships from Wisconsin. The Iowa men's and Ohio State women's teams will look to defend their 2011 titles.

At 11 AM ET on Saturday, May 26, the Big Ten Network will televise the Big Ten Rowing Championships from Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, where the Buckeyes hope to defend their Big Ten crown.

For the fourth straight year, the Big Ten Network will televise every game of the Big Ten Baseball Tournament live.  The tournament will take place May 23-26, with a game on May 27 if necessary, at Huntington Park, home of the Triple-A Columbus Clippers. Coverage begins with two opening-round games at noon and approximately 3:30 PM ET on Wednesday, May 23. Illinois won the tournament title last year, earning the Big Ten's automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship.

In the latest polls, the Big Ten has nationally ranked teams in the sports of baseball (No. 16 Purdue), men's golf (No. 25 Iowa, No. 35 Illinois, No. 43 Indiana and No. 48 Purdue), women's golf (No. 22 Ohio State, No. 27 Michigan State, No. 32 Purdue and No. 42 Northwestern), men's tennis (No. 3 Ohio State, No. 20 Illinois, No. 21 Michigan, No. 36 Indiana and No. 44 Northwestern), women's tennis (No. 12 Northwestern, No. 14 Michigan, No. 18 Nebraska, No. 21 Illinois, No. 29 Purdue, No. 33 Minnesota and No. 47 Indiana), men's track and field (No. 9 Indiana, No. 15 Nebraska, No. 18 Iowa and No. 25 Wisconsin), women's track and field (No. 21 Nebraska), and rowing (No. 3 Michigan, No. 6 Ohio State, No. 11 Wisconsin, No. 15 Michigan State and No. 19 Minnesota).

The complete television schedule for the 2012 Big Ten Spring Championships and Tournaments appears below. For more information on these events, go or



2011 Big Ten Network Spring Championships/Tournament Schedule:

Sport - Dates - Site - Air Date and Time (ET) - Defending Champion
(W) Tennis - April 26-29 - Ohio State - Wednesday, May 9 - 6 PM - Northwestern
(M) Tennis - April 26-29 - Northwestern - Thursday, May 10 - 6 PM - Ohio State
(M) Golf - April 27-29 - French Lick, IN - Sunday, May 13 - 10 AM - Illinois
(W) Golf - April 27-29 - French Lick, IN - Sunday, May 13 - 11 AM - Michigan State
Outdoor Track & Field - May 11-13 - Wisconsin - Sunday, May 20 - noon - Iowa (M)/Ohio State (W)
Rowing - May 13 - Indianapolis - Saturday, May 26 - 11 AM - Ohio State

Big Ten Baseball Tournament Schedule:

Game - Day - Date - Air Time (ET)
1 - Wednesday - May 23 - noon
2 - Wednesday - May 23 - 3:30 PM
3 - Thursday - May 24 - noon
4 - Thursday - May 24 - 3:30 PM
5 - Thursday - May 24 - 7 PM
6 - Friday - May 25 - noon
7 - Friday - May 25 - 3:30 PM
8 - (Semifinal 1) - Friday - May 25 - 7 PM
9 - (Semifinal 2) - Saturday - May 26 - 3:30 PM
10 - (Championship) - Saturday - May 26 - 7 PM
11 - (if necessary) - Sunday - May 27 - noon

About BTN: A joint venture between the Big Ten Conference and Fox Networks, BTN is the first internationally distributed network dedicated to covering one of the premier collegiate conferences in the country. With more than 800 events, all in HD, the 24/7 network is the ultimate destination for Big Ten fans and alumni across the country, allowing them to see their favorite teams, regardless of where they live. Events include football, men's and women's basketball games; dozens of Big Ten Championship events; studio shows; coaches' shows; and classic games. The network televises and streams more Olympic sporting events and women's sports than has ever been aired on any other network. Original programming highlights activities and accomplishments of some of the nation's finest universities. The groundbreaking Student U initiative provides real-world experience for students interested in careers in sports television. The network is available to more than 80 million homes across the United States and Canada, and currently has agreements with more than 300 affiliates, including AT&T U-Verse, Atlantic Broadband, Cablevision, Charter, Comcast, Cox, DirecTV, DISH Network, Insight, Mediacom, Rogers Cable (Canada), Shaw Cable and Shaw Direct (Canada), Time Warner Cable and Verizon FiOS. For updated information, go to

About the Big Ten Conference: The Big Ten Conference is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in student-athletes' lives and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. Big Ten universities provide in excess of $100 million in athletic scholarship aid to more than 8,700 men and women student-athletes who compete for 25 championships, 12 for men and 13 for women. Conference institutions sponsor broad-based athletic programs with more than 270 teams. For more information, visit