Ohio State to Host 2009 Big Ten Rowing Championships

April 30, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Three of the seven conference programs earned top seeds for this weekend’s 2009 Big Ten Women’s Rowing Championships.  This season marks the 10th year of the event and will be hosted by Ohio State University.  The Championships will take place at Griggs Reservoir on the Scioto River near Columbus on Saturday, May 2 beginning at 8 a.m. ET.

Michigan leads the conference with three top seeds at this year’s championship regatta. The Wolverines secured the No. 1 seed in the I Varsity Four division as well as in the I and II Novice Eight divisions. U-M will look to improve from a year ago as the Wolverines are currently ranked No. 15 in the country. Michigan has won more Big Ten championships than any other school with four total titles, its last coming in 2004.

Defending team champion Michigan State is the top seed in the I Varsity Eight and II Varsity Four divisions.  The Spartans are currently ranked No. 7 in the country by the Women’s USRowing/CRCA Coaches Poll and the MSU crew is looking for its second consecutive Big Ten title.  The Michigan State I Varsity Eight was named Big Ten Boat of the Week once this season on April 21.

The No. 14-ranked Wisconsin Rowing team earned the No. 1 seed in the II Varsity Four division. The Badgers finished second at the 2008 edition of the Big Ten Championships, edging Ohio State by just two points, and will return to this year’s event in search of their first Big Ten crown. UW’s II Novice Eight has won the individual event in five of the eight years that this race has been part of the championships, and is seeded second heading into this weekend’s event.  

Championships host Ohio State looks to capture its third Big Ten title. The Buckeyes last claimed the conference crown in 2006 and currently stand at No. 12 in the national rankings. The OSU I Varsity Eight crew was tabbed as Big Ten Boat of the Week twice this season in back-to-back weeks on April 7 and again on April 14.

No. 19 Minnesota returns in search of its second Big Ten title this weekend.  The Gophers last won the event in 2007.  Iowa will be looking for its second conference crown, as the Hawkeyes won in 2001.  Indiana is still in search of its first Big Ten title.

Championships Central