Conference Office Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners

Wisconsin coach Bebe Bryans was named Big Ten Coach of the Year on Wednesday afternoon.

May 5, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced the rowing individual award winners and seven sportsmanship honorees, as chosen by the conference coaches, on Wednesday afternoon. Michigan State’s Emily Regan was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Wisconsin’s Mollie Kryka won Freshman of the Year laurels. Badger leader Bebe Bryans was named conference Coach of the Year after guiding Wisconsin to its first Big Ten Championship.

Regan, a senior from Williamsville, N.Y., is the Spartans’ their third-straight Big Ten Athlete of the Year. She follows 2008 winner Anne Cowan and 2009 recipient Sarah Schmidt, and is the fourth Michigan State student-athlete to win the award. Regan sat in the No. 5 seat for the Spartans as they rode to victory in the first varsity eight race last weekend at the Big Ten Championships and was named a first-team All-Big Ten honoree for her efforts.

Kryka is the second Badger to win Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors, following 2006 winner Sarah Wrenshall. The Verona, Wis., native was a part of Wisconsin’s winning first novice eight boat that finished in a time of 6:42.70, earning valuable points that helped the Badgers to their first Big Ten Championship in school history.

Bryans wins Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the third time in her career and the first time at Wisconsin as she won the award in 2000 and 2003 while at Michigan State. Bryans guided the Badgers to their first Big Ten Championship in school history after four boats took home first-place honors, tied for the most by any program in history at the conference meet. Wisconsin’s total of 148 points is the third-highest in Big Ten Championships history.

The Big Ten announced the members of the All-Big Ten teams following the conclusion of the championships last Saturday. Five Michigan State rowers were named to the All-Conference teams, most of any team in the Big Ten, followed by Wisconsin with four selections and Ohio State with three.



The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The seven student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Athlete of the Year:
Emily Regan, MSU

Freshman of the Year:
Mollie Kryka, WIS

Coach of the Year:
Bebe Bryans, WIS

Sportsmanship Honorees:
Katie Liston, IND
Megan Erickson, IOWA
Nellie Ruedig, MICH
Megan Kursik, MSU
Jenna Schuder, MINN
Jill Mohr, OSU
Vicky Opitz, WIS


Shifumi Terasara, IND
Sheila Rinozzi, IOWA
Ashley Kroll, MICH
Emily Regan, MSU
Michelle Mussett, MSU
Victoria Woodward, MSU
Lucy Mulvey, MINN
Charlotte Goldstein, OSU
Vicky Opitz, WIS
Katy Haver, WIS

Andrea Wensits, IND
Jess Novack, IOWA
Adrienne Meacham, MICH
Laura Cowal, MSU
Kellie LaPointe, MSU
Cassie Drozynski, MINN
Sara Wallace, OSU
Claudia Herpertz, OSU
Grace Latz. WIS
Katie Hurtis, WIS