Big Ten Rowing Championships Take Place this Weekend

May 10, 2012

2012 Big Ten Rowing Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

The 2012 Big Ten Rowing Championships take place Sunday, May 13, at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. This year marks the second consecutive that the event has taken place at the course, and the event will return to Eagle Creek Park again in 2013. The 2012 Big Ten Rowing Championships are a seven-lane, finals-only event.

Ohio State enters the event as defending champion, having taken last year's Championships with a team score of 142. The Buckeyes claimed an 18-point margin of victory over second-place Michigan, and a 21-point margin over third-place Wisconsin, who won the team title in 2010.

Wisconsin boasts three top-seeded boats entering Sunday's races, as the II Varsity Four, I Novice Eight and II Novice Eight boats all claimed No. 1 seeds.

Ohio State has top-seeded boats in the I Varsity Four and II Varsity Eight races, while Michigan's I Varsity Eight is the top seed in the final race of the day.

Six Big Ten teams are ranked or receiving votes in the latest national poll, led by Ohio State, which is ranked fourth and is receiving first-place votes. Michigan is fifth, followed by No. 9 Wisconsin, No. 14 Michigan State and No. 18 Minnesota. Indiana is receiving one vote in the poll.

Click the link at the top of the story for the event schedule, as well as seedings and lane assignments and the team scoring system.