Rowing Squads Set to Compete at Regional Championships

May 12, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

All seven Big Ten rowing teams travel to Tennessee this weekend to take part in the 2005 Aramark Central/South Sprints, scheduled for May 14-15 at Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge. 

Just two weeks after capturing its first-ever Conference crown, Michigan State's first varsity eight boat enters as the top seed in this year's Central/South regional regatta.  Ohio State and Michigan helped make it a Big Ten sweep of the top three seeds as the Buckeyes and Wolverines earned the No. 2 and No. 3 places, respectively.  Also seeded in the first varsity eight race is Wisconsin as the sixth seed, followed by No. 7 Minnesota, No. 9 Indiana and No 13. Iowa. 

Ohio State leads all Big Ten squads in the second varsity eight race as the No. 2 seed, while the Spartans, Wisconsin and Michigan round out the top five.  Indiana and Minnesota are also seeded in 10th and 12th, respectively. 

Additionally, the League has six teams seeded in the first varsity four race and three of the six places in the first novice eight competition, as only the first six boats of that race are seeded.

There is no seeding for the second novice eight or Open four races.

The Central/South Region Championships is the only regatta of its kind in the NCAA.  The competition is comprised of 21 teams and is limited to intercollegiate programs that compete in either the Central or South Region.  Events will consist of the first and second varsity eight races, the first and second varsity four, as well as the first and second novice eight competitions. 

Melton Hill Lake has been the site of the event since the first competition took place in 1997. 

The regatta provides the teams one last opportunity to compete before the NCAA selection announcement on Tuesday, May 17 at 4 p.m.  The selections will be available on the NCAA website at