Rowing Championships Release

May 12, 2016

2016 Rowing Championships Release

The 2016 Big Ten Rowing Championships will take place Saturday, May 14 and Sunday, May 15, at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. This year marks the sixth consecutive season that the event has taken place at the course. The Big Ten Rowing Championships are a prelims and finals event.

Ohio State enters the event after winning its third consecutive Big Ten Championship and NCAA titles last season. The Buckeyes recorded 186 points at last year’s event on the strength of six first-place finishes. Michigan posted a second-place effort (162 points), while Wisconsin finished third (140 points).

Wisconsin boasts four top-seeded boats entering the championships, while Ohio State has two top seeds. The Badgers First Varsity Four, Second Varsity Four, First Novice Eight and Second Novice Eight claimed No. 1 seeds, while the Buckeyes’ First Varsity Eight and Third Varsity Four also earned top seeds. Michigan claimed the top seed in the Second Varsity Eight race.

Six Big Ten teams are ranked or receiving votes in the latest national poll. Ohio State leads the way at No. 3 followed by No. 10 Michigan, No. 11 Wisconsin and No. 14 Indiana. Iowa and Minnesota are also receiving votes in the poll.

BTN2Go will stream Sunday’s championship races live beginning at 9 a.m. ET. BTN will debut the Big Ten Rowing Championships on Saturday, May 21, at 8 p.m. ET.