Four Schools Earn NCAA Bid to Rowing Championships

May 15, 2012

Four Big Ten teams were selected to the 2012 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships, the NCAA Rowing Committee announced on Tuesday. The championships will be held May 25-27 at Lake Mercer in West Windsor, N.J.

Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Wisconsin each earned bids to the championships and are seeking their first NCAA titles. The regatta includes 16 teams, and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

Big Ten Champion Michigan is making its 12th appearance in the meet, while Michigan State was selected to its 14th championships in the last 15 seasons. Ohio State is making its 13th consecutive visit to the national event, while Wisconsin appears in the regatta for the ninth time.