2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships Preview

May 15, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

2013 Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

The 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships take place Sunday, May 19, at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. This year marks the third consecutive season that the event has taken place at the course. The 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships are a seven-lane, finals-only event.

Michigan enters the event as defending champion, having taken last year’s Championships with a team score of 147. The Wolverines claimed a two-point margin of victory over second-place Ohio State and a 25-point margin over third-place Wisconsin. The conference title was Michigan’s Big Ten-leading fifth and first since 2004.

Ohio State boasts five top-seeded boats entering Sunday’s races, as the I Varsity Eight, II Varsity Eight, I Varsity Four, II Varsity Four and III Varsity Four boats all claimed No. 1 seeds.

Michigan has two top-seeded boats in the I Novice Eight and II Novice Eight races.

Six Big Ten teams are ranked or receiving votes in the latest national poll, led by Ohio State, which is ranked third and is receiving first-place votes. Michigan is No. 13, followed by No. 14 Wisconsin and No. 20 Minnesota. Iowa and Michigan State are receiving votes in the poll.

The complete release is above.