2014 Big Ten Rowing Championships Preview

Ohio State Head Coach Andy Teitelbaum looks to lead the Buckeyes to the Big Ten title for the second year in a row.

May 15, 2014

Rosemont, Ill. -

Big Ten Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader


This year, the Big Ten is celebrating 100 years of the Big Ten Medal of Honor. The conference’s most prestigious award, the Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had “attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.” In the 99 years of the Medal of Honor, over 1,300 student-athletes have earned this distinction, including eight rowers. Throughout the course of the year, the conference highlighted previous Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients, featuring some of the legends of the Big Ten who have earned this prominent achievement.


The 2014 Big Ten Rowing Championships take place Sunday, May 18, at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. This year marks the fourth consecutive season that the event has taken place at the course. The 2014 Big Ten Rowing Championships are a seven-lane, finals-only event.

Ohio State enters the event as the defending NCAA and Big Ten Champion. The Buckeyes recorded 160 points at last year’s event, a championships record, on the strength of five first-place finishes. Michigan posted a second-place effort (135 points), while Wisconsin finished third (134 points).

Ohio State and Wisconsin each boast three top-seeded boats entering Sunday’s races. The Buckeye I Varsity Eight, II Varsity Eight and II Varsity Four boats claimed No. 1 seeds, while the Badger I Varsity Four, I Novice Eight and II Novice Eight boats also earned top seeds. Michigan has one top-seeded boat in the III Varsity Four race.

Six Big Ten teams are ranked or receiving votes in the latest national poll, led by Ohio State, which is ranked second and is receiving first-place votes. Michigan is No. 9, followed by No. 13 Indiana, No. 16 Wisconsin and No. 20 Michigan State. Iowa is receiving votes in the poll.

BTN will televise the event on Sunday, May 25, at 1 p.m. ET.

The schedule of events, seedings, lane assignments and team scoring system can be found in the attached PDF.