Big Ten Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners

May 16, 2012

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Wednesday the rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. The Wolverines’ Felice Mueller was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, teammate Jessica Eiffert won Freshman of the Year laurels and Michigan head coach Mark Rothstein was named Coach of the Year.

Mueller becomes the first Wolverine to win Athlete of the Year since Heather Mandoli in 2004. The senior from Cleveland Heights, Ohio, sat in the No. 6 seat for the Wolverines as they emerged victorious in the first varsity eight race last weekend, leading Michigan to the Big Ten title.

Eiffert is the second consecutive Wolverine to claim Freshman of the Year honors and the fourth in the last six years. The Honeoye Falls, N.Y., native sat in the No. 4 seat in the Wolverines’ first varsity eight boat.

Rothstein wins Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in his career and for the first time since 2004. Rothstein guided the Wolverines to their fifth Big Ten Championship on the strength of two first-place boat finishes.

The Big Ten announced the members of the All-Big Ten teams following the conclusion of the championships last Sunday. Five Michigan rowers were named to the All-Conference teams, the most of any team in the Big Ten. Ohio State had four selections and Wisconsin had three.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The seven student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.



The complete list of All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship honorees can be found below.

Athlete of the Year:

Felice Mueller, Michigan


Freshman of the Year:

Jessica Eiffert, Michigan


Coach of the Year:

Mark Rothstein, Michigan


First Team

Asja Zero, Indiana

Annemarie Bernhard, Iowa

Julia Darnton, Michigan

Emily Eiffert, Michigan

Felice Mueller, Michigan

Amanda McGeachie, Michigan State

Molly Kalmoe, Minnesota

Ulrike Denker, Ohio State

Emily Walsh, Ohio State

Vanessa Kleiss, Wisconsin


Second Team

Cara Donley, Indiana

Katy Kroll, Iowa

Lindsey Healy, Michigan

Melisa Ongun, Michigan

Michelle Neuder, Michigan State

Alissa Haws, Minnesota

Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State

Ilse Paulis, Ohio State

Kate Mansfield, Wisconsin

Amy Slesar, Wisconsin


Asja Zero, Indiana

Sarah Radke, Iowa

Kate Grimaldi, Michigan

Jocelyn Smith, Michigan State

Sara Baldvins, Minnesota

Katie King, Ohio State

Jane Roberts, Wisconsin