Big Ten Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners
May 16, 2018

The Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday its 2018 rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Iowa’s Contessa Harold and Michigan’s Kendall Brewer were named Co-Big Ten Athletes of the Year, while Ohio State’s Lexie Nothdurft received Freshmen of the Year laurels. Buckeye head coach Andrew Teitelbaum earned Coach of the Year honors.

Harrold becomes the first Hawkeye to earn Athlete of the Year honors, while Brewer’s accolade marks the sixth time a Wolverine has claimed the award and the first since Felice Mueller in 2012. Nothdurft is the fifth Buckeye to earn Freshman of the Year honors and first since Sarah Davis in 2015.

Teitelbaum takes home Big Ten Coach of the Year laurels for the sixth time in the last seven years and a conference-record eighth time overall. He guided the Buckeyes to their record-setting ninth Big Ten Championship as Ohio State became the first a school to sweep all seven races since the adoption of the current Big Ten Championships format in 2013. 

All-Big Ten teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees were announced on May 13 and can be found here.

The complete list of individual award winners can be found below.

Co-Athletes of the Year
Contessa Harold, Iowa
Kendall Brewer, Michigan 

Freshman of the Year
Lexie Nothdurft, Ohio State

Coach of the Year
Andrew Teitelbaum, Ohio State