Four Big Ten Teams Earn NCAA Bids

May 17, 2006

Four Big Ten rowing teams have been chosen to participate in the 2006 NCAA Championships, the selection committee announced Tuesday. The event will take place May 26-28 with the Princeton National Rowing Association and Rutgers University playing host at Mercer Lake in West Windsor, N.J. The team championships are comprised of 12 teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

Fourth-ranked Ohio State will be making its seventh-consecutive appearance at the NCAA championships. The Buckeyes placed fourth in the team standings at the event last year, tying the best finish in program history. Winners of the 2006 Big Ten Championships, the Buckeyes became the first school to win the Big Ten and Central Region since Michigan in 2001 with their fourth-consecutive Central Region championship Sunday. 

Michigan State earned its seventh consecutve bid to the National Championship Regatta. The Spartans finished 10that last year's event, held on Lake Natoma in Sacramento, California. The MSU varsity finished 11th, while the second varsity was fifth and the varsity four eighth.

Wisconsin earned its third straight bid to the NCAA rowing championships after second-place finish at last weekend's 2006 NCAA Central/South Regional Regatta. The Badgers' saw their varsity eight take fourth, their second varsity eight place second and their varsity four finish in third place in the regional, putting the Badgers in prime position for a bid.

Making its first NCAA appearance in just six years since its inaugural season as a varsity sport in the 2001, Minnesota qualified for its first-ever NCAA Championships. The Golden Gophers received one of four at-large bids for the First Varsity Eight for the NCAA Championships. 

 Full NCAA Release