Big Ten Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners

May 17, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday its 2017 rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Ohio State’s Ida Kruse was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Michigan’s Tayla-May Bentley tabbed Freshmen of the Year laurels. Buckeye head coach Andrew Teitelbaum earned Coach of the Year honors.

Kruse becomes the fifth consecutive Buckeye to earn Athlete of the Year honors. The sophomore from Munster, Germany, stroked Ohio State’s first varsity eight boat to a first-place finish and the third-fastest time in Big Ten Championships history (6:08.792), securing the Buckeyes’ fifth straight conference title. Kruse, who led Ohio State’s 1V8+ to a No. 5 seed in the NCAA Championships, also earned first-team All-Big Ten honors.

Bentley is the seventh Wolverine to earn Freshman of the Year honors and second in as many years. The Johannesburg, South Africa, native sat in the No. 6 seat for Michigan’s first varsity eight that finished second at the Big Ten Championships and earned the No. 7 seed in the NCAA Championships.

Teitelbaum takes home Big Ten Coach of the Year laurels for the fifth time in the last six years and a conference-record seventh time overall. He guided the Buckeyes to their record-setting eighth Big Ten Championship on the strength of two Big Ten Championship-record times and three first-place finishes for a total of 180 points. Teitelbaum helped Ohio State to its 18th straight bid to the NCAA Championships. He looks to lead the Buckeyes to their fourth national title in five years after earning the conference's third NCAA Rowing Championship in 2015.

The complete list of individual award winners can be found below.

Athlete of the Year
Ida Kruse, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year
Tayla-May Bentley, Michigan

Coach of the Year
Andrew Teitelbaum, Ohio State