Conference Office Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners

Michigan's Chrissy Holm earns 2011 Freshman of the Year honors.

May 18, 2011

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference office announced the rowing individual award winners as chosen by the conference coaches, on Wednesday afternoon. Michigan State's Laura Cowal was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Michigan's Chrissy Holm won Freshman of the Year laurels. Ohio State's Andy Teitelbaum was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Buckeyes to their first Big Ten Championship since 2006.

Cowal, a senior from Thorold, Ontario, is the Spartans' fourth-straight Big Ten Athlete of the Year. She follows 2008 winner Anne Cowan, 2009 recipient Sarah Schmidt and 2010 honoree Emily Regan and is the fifth Michigan State student-athlete to win the award. Cowal sat in the No. 6 seat for the Spartans as they rode to victory in the first varsity eight race last weekend at the Big Ten Championships and was named a first-team All-Big Ten honoree for her efforts. She becomes the first athlete in the history of Big Ten rowing to win four Big Ten championships in the varsity eight boat.

Holm is the fourth Wolverine to win Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors and the second in the last three years, following 2009 winner Melisa Ongun. The North Oaks, Minn., native was a part of Michigan's third place varsity eight boat that finished in a time of 6:21.01, earning valuable points that helped the Wolverines finish second in the team standings.

Teitelbaum wins Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the third time in his career and for the first time since 2006. Teitelbaum guided the Buckeyes to their third Big Ten Championship on the strength of two first-place boat finishes.

The Big Ten announced the members of the All-Big Ten teams following the conclusion of the championships last Sunday. Five Michigan State rowers were named to the All-Conference teams, most of any team in the Big Ten. Ohio State had four selections and Michigan had three.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The seven student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.



The complete list of All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship honorees can be found on the following page.

Athlete of the Year:
Laura Cowal, MSU

Freshman of the Year:
Chrissy Holm, MICH

Coach of the Year:
Andy Teitelbaum

Asja Zero, IND
Jessica Novack, IOWA
Felice Mueller, MICH
Stephanie Bochenek, MSU
Laura Cowal, MSU
Kellie LaPointe, MSU
Cassie Drozynski, MINN
Ulrike Denker, OSU
Claudia Schiwy, OSU
Jackie Koykkar, WIS

Shifumi Terasaka, IND
Molly Pollpeter, IOWA
Julia Darnton, MICH
Natalie Eisermann, MICH
Alex Maibusch, MSU
Amanda McGeachie, MSU
Tracy Merth, MINN
Carolin Helmholz, OSU
Claire-Louise Bode, OSU
Lisa Godhardt, WIS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
Cara Donley, IND
Allison Lofthouse, IOWA
Michaela Brown, MICH
Monique Carter, MSU
Teresa Logemann, MINN
Julie Dick, OSU
Kate Mansfield, WIS