Big Ten Announces Rowing Individual Award Winners

May 18, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference office announced on Wednesday the 2016 Rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Indiana’s Rebecca Brougher was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Michigan’s Meghan Gutknecht and Wisconsin’s Alicia Evans were tabbed Co-Freshmen of the Year. Wisconsin head coach Bebe Bryans earned Coach of the Year honors. 

Brougher becomes the first Hoosier to earn Athlete of the Year honors. The senior from Columbus, Ind., sat in the No. 2 seat for Indiana’s first varsity eight boat at last weekend’s Big Ten Championships. Brougher, who earned the “Spirit of Indiana Athletic Director’s Award” also earned first-team All-Big Ten honors. 

Gutknecht is the sixth Wolverine to earn Freshman of the Year honors and the first since 2012. The Guilderland, N.Y., native sat in the No. 2 seat for Michigan’s first varsity eight that finished second at the Big Ten Championships.




Evans is only the third Wisconsin rower to be named Freshman of the Year and the first since 2010. Evans has been the stroke of Wisconsin’s unbeaten first novice eight. The Badgers claimed the title at last weekend’s regatta in 6:45.126.

Bryans takes home Big Ten Coach of the Year laurels for the fourth time in her career and for the second time as the mentor at Wisconsin. She guided the Badgers to a pair of first-place finishes in the first novice eight and second novice eight races at the Big Ten Championships. Bryans helped Wisconsin earn its ninth straight bid to the NCAA Championships.

The complete list of individual award winners can be found below.


Athlete of the Year

Rebecca Brougher, Indiana


Co-Freshmen of the Year

Meghan Gutknecht, Michigan

Alicia Evans, Wisconsin


Coach of the Year

Bebe Bryans, Wisconsin