Big Ten Announces Addition to 2016 Individual Rowing Awards

May 20, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced on Friday an addition to the 2016 individual award winners in rowing, as Ohio State’s Catherine Shields will share Big Ten Athlete of the Year honors with Indiana’s Rebecca Brougher. After announcing individual awards on Wednesday, it was determined the voting process was administered incorrectly and both Brougher and Shields should have been named Athlete of the Year.

Shields has been in the stern of the Buckeyes’ varsity eight boat for three seasons. In four years, she has lost just one race. Shields, who also won Big Ten Athlete of the Year honors in 2014, is the fifth Ohio State rower to claim the award. She also earned first-team All-Big Ten plaudits.

In other rowing individual honors, Michigan’s Meghan Gutknecht and Wisconsin’s Alicia Evans were tabbed Co-Freshmen of the Year while Wisconsin head coach Bebe Bryans earned Coach of the Year honors.